Sunday, June 17, 2012

Annual Meeting: Election results

Passing the gavel to the new President, Christine Alger
On June 13, 2012, at the Annual Meeting of the Friends of the Holyoke Public Library, elections were held for board members and for officers. The following officers were elected for the coming year:

President:                             Christine Alger
Vice President:                     Sandy Ward
Secretary:                             Jim Massery
Corresponding Secretary:  Connie Kennedy
Treasurer:                            Barbara Raines
Assistant Treasurer:            Patti Lumbra 

Nine people were elected to three-year terms on the Board:  Michael Baron, Elaine Baskin, Darlene Elias, Maredith Haesaert, Connie Kennedy, Katherine Lynch, R. Andrew Parker, Migdalia Thomas, and Frank Wotton.  New member Brittney Noble was elected to a one-year term (filling a vacancy) on the Board.  

Outgoing President Tim Damon will continue on the Board and will also serve on the Executive Team in the role of Past President.  Also continuing on the board are members elected in previous years: Dayna Abrazinski, Christine Alger, Dick Coleman, Catherine Dower, Patti Lumbra, Loida Martinez, marypaz, Jim Massery, Tom McCabe, Andrew Melendez, Barbara Raines, Karlene Shea, Christopher Tinson and Sandy Ward.

Tim presented a bouquet of flowers to volunteer Margaret (Peg) McCarthy, who is retiring not only from the positions of Assistant Treasurer and of Membership Chair, but also retiring from the Board after many years of service. She will continue to be active with the Friends.
Tim Damon presented flowers to Margaret McCarthy

Refreshments from Hamels Catering were served in the lobby by the library entrance.

Terry Plum, President of the Holyoke Public Library Corporation, gave an update about the library building project and answered questions.  The construction process is going very well, on schedule and on budget.

We all look forward to the opening of the renovated and expanded Library next year (summer 2013).  The Friends will then have a designated room in which to meet and work.